4 comments on “Aspects: Eye of the Beholder

  1. I have to fix this and I can’t believe I didn’t notice it until now. In the part where I discuss how to calculate orbs, I was completely off base. 😦 The orbs are calculated by the SUM of the orbs of the planets involved, not the mean. So, using the same example as I did in the article, a Sol/Saturn aspect would get 13° (8.5° + 4.5).

    Venus/Saturn aspects would get 8° because the 3.5° of Venus’s orb and the 4.5° of Saturn’s.

    Wow, I can’t believe I messed up so bad. 😛

  2. Hi, Ryoin,
    I was wondering, what would the moiety be for the “modern,” outer planets? I haven’t seen any discussion of this. 🙂

    • This is actually a pretty interesting issue that you raise, SaDiablo, and it’s a bit more complicated than you would think. Traditionally, one could correctly say that the outer planets would not have orbs since we cannot see them and thus they don’t give off light. This light is very important in aspectual theory, as it’s the intensity or amount of light in the “rays that are cast” that determine how large of an orb a particular planet gets and explains why the Sun gets such a large orb (as it is very bright), and why Mars gets a much more restrictive orb (being quite small).

      However, it also brings up the point of house cusps which are mathematical points that obviously give off no light, but are still given a 5° orb on either side. So, my answer would be: while not necessarily in line with tradition since Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto do not give off observable light to us here on Earth, the house cusps do not either but are allowed a 10° orb (5° moeity), so let’s go with that for the outers!

Leave a Reply

